This award was instigated by the Institute in 2011 in conjunction with the family of Jimmy Budd, to be awarded in his memory.

A Fellow of the Institute, Jimmy was an active member for over 50 years and President in the year 1980-81. Also, for many years a much-respected member of Council and chairman of the Journal committee.

Jimmy was very much involved with encouraging younger members to attain full Institute membership by completing the Institute examinations and always enjoyed his input into the education and training of students. When the Institute had to move out of London accommodation, without the endeavours of Jimmy and his staff in running the Institute between offices, it is doubtful if we would still have an Institute today. A fitting tribute to Jimmy Budd, recognising his many years of dedication and service to the Institute.

This award comprises a scholarship covering the cost of tuition and examination fees for the Institute's four written examinations. When the Award was introduced it was awarded to the highest placed candidate in the bodyshop magazine Vehicle Damage Assessor of the Year competition who has not previously sat these examinations. Between the years 2014-2017 the winners were already a member of the Institute and had sat the examinations. In 2018 the Education committee decided that if this were the case in future years the Institute would ask the Regions to nominate candidates who they thought would benefit from being awarded the Jimmy Budd Award, hence there three winners in 2018.

Previous Winners
2018Aude Valnet, Jessica Sevellec and Craig Holt
2014 - 2017Not awarded
2013Russell Taylor
2012Dean Weller
2011Keiran Nowland

Jessica Sevellec accepts her Jimmy Budd Award

Jessica Sevellec accpets her Jimmy Budd Award