The George Bates Award Presented to the Institute in March 2003, this award has been donated by family and former colleagues in memory of George Bates, a Fellow of the Institute, consummate professional, dedicated trainer and developer of engineers, and Institute member for almost 50 years.

George provided regular support across a wide and varied range of Institute activities; he also regularly supported Institute oral examinations as a Board member. This award is presented annually to the candidate who achieved the highest mark in the Institute's oral examinations conducted during the previous year.

Previous Winners
2018 Adrian Clements
2017 Paul Chapman
2016 David Cromey
2015 Ashley Wright
2014 Rob Baldwin
2013 Andy Lee

Adrian Clements accepts the George Bates Award

Ivan Marriott

Ashley Wright accepting the George Bates Award from Adam Murray in 2015

Ashley Wright